West Yorkshire Combined Authority (WYCA)

A hosted solution for WYCA

Why the need for WYCA?

Managing multiple systems across a large geographical area can present complex challenges for network operators. The West Yorkshire Combined Authority (WYCA) consists of five areas; Leeds, Wakefield, Bradford, Calderdale and Kirklees. WYCA traffic systems are managed through four stand-alone Urban Traffic Control (UTC) systems.

These disparate systems with bespoke software interfaces, makes traffic management tasks difficult, disruptive and time consuming to manage. It also presents inconsistent experiences for road users commuting between the borders of the same county.

What is it?

Building further on our systems integration capabilities, we deployed an Urban Traffic Management Control (UTMC) system which centralised network operations using our intuitive web-based Graphical User Interface. Integration of the four UTC networks and back-end infrastructure into a hosted, secure and highly resilient data centre has resolved legacy problems associated with disparate systems.

How does it work?

Our secure platform will continuously gather and analyse traffic data from the four UTC systems enabling us to build a comprehensive and detailed view of traffic behaviour across the five regions. This means that any changes in traffic patterns are identified and operators are alerted to incidents in real time, allowing for prompt and seamless intervention.

Where are some of the benefits?

With increased county-wide visibility and control of the network, this enables WYCA operators to better utilise roadside assets, helping to alleviate congestion and improve traffic flow throughout the area whilst enhancing road user experiences when commuting between regions.